Barbara Conrad Award

"To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment." -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Barbara Conrad Leadership Award

Those who never had the privilege to know Barbara Conrad missed an exceptional experience. A member of the Class of ’91-’92, Barbara truly epitomized the commitment to community that Leadership La Plata, at its very core, embraces. She is remembered widely in the community as the former director of the Durango Arts Center, the main gallery of which bears her name, but she was so much more.

To honor Barbara, Leadership La Plata established the Barbara Conrad Leadership Award, given annually in conjunction with the Durango Chamber of Commerce Annual Awards Celebration.

Each year, the recipient is selected by a committee made up of the former recipients, including Bill Mashaw, David Eppich, Char Day, Pam Patton, Ed Morlan, Sidny Zink, Lon Erwin, Nora Tracy, Dennis Lum, Marsha Porter-Norton, Indiana Reed, Kip Koso, Wanda Ellingson, Diane Becket, Christi Zeller, John and Cissy Anderson. The committee does not nominate, so members of the community are strongly encouraged to suggest individuals who meets the criteria.

The successful recipient must be a LLP graduate who is consistently involved and active in leadership roles throughout the community, as was Barbara. The recipient must also be one who demonstrates collaborative leadership skills and creative, independent thinking – or thinking “outside the box.” Of prime importance is dedication to the Leadership La Plata program.

Nomination forms can be obtained here. Deadline is traditionally late November. The award is presented annually in January.


Congratulations to this year's Barbara Conrad Award winner,

Janae Hunderman


Click to hear acceptance speech.




Special Thanks to Our Sponsors






on the edge
Steamworks Brewing
J3media: graphic design, web design