Current Class

"You see things; and you say 'Why?' But I dream things that never were; and I say 'Why not?' " -George Bernard Shaw


Leadership La Plata (LLP), the diverse, all-volunteer organization designed to educate and train community leaders from throughout the county, has announced its new class for 2018-2019.

The LLP Selection Committee selects 18 candidates from a highly qualified field of dynamic individuals.

New class members are Jess Morrison (Animas High School), Denise Magner (Elwood Staffing), Hayley Engstrom (Coldwell Banker Heritage House Realtors), Devon Parson (Durango 9-R Pathways to Independence), Candy Heide (TBK Bank), Matt Payne (Community Connections), Kristin Jensen (BP), James Plotnik (Property Brothers of Colorado - R1 Colorado), David Kerns (Fort Lewis College), Mark Mastalski (Fort Lewis College), Drea Pressley (Edward Jones Investments), Laurie Meininger (Shanta Foundation), James Simmons (PESCO, Inc.), Alyssa Murray (Conservation Legacy), Carly Van Hof Thompson (Zia Taqueria), Colleen O’Brien (City of Durango), Molly Pagano (San Juan Paralegal Services) and Gisele Panzse (Compass College Consulting).

Now in its 30th year, LLP provides leadership skills training and broad-based education covering all facets of the community. More than 400 LLP graduates are currently engaged in community leadership roles, from business and local government to non-profit agencies.



Special Thanks to Our Sponsors






on the edge
Steamworks Brewing
J3media: graphic design, web design