Program Structure

"There is no passion to be found in playing small - in settling for a life that is less than what you are capable of living" - Nelson Mandela

The Structure

Leadership La Plata is a program of the Durango Chamber of Commerce, and operates at the pleasure of its board of directors.

The “business” of LLP is overseen by the Steering Committee, a body averaging 15 members representative of a variety of classes.  This is a working board, with each member overseeing the various aspects of the LLP program throughout the year. Steering is responsible for LLP’s fiscal health and fundraising, as well as policy development and enforcement.

Currently, Mark Thompson serves as the steering chair, Dick Imig as treasurer and Janae Hunderman as secretary.  The remaining members of the 2015-2016 Steering Committee are Jenn Bartlett, Jill Carithers, Miriam Gillow-Wiles, Tara Kiene, Charley Kier, Ernie Lau, Eric Pierson, Jen Simon and Joanne Spina.  Jack Llewellyn and Rita Simon represent the Chamber of Commerce.

The Curriculum Committee is co-chaired by Charley Kier and Miriam Gillow-Wiles, and includes committee members Amber Beye, Heather Hormell, Danielle Kirkpatrick, Jim Ottman, Indiana Reed, Shanna Sasser, Lori Schell, Dave Schranck, Briggen Wrinkle and Christi Zeller.

LLP classes are facilitated each year by members of the previous year’s class. To ensure consistency, help in coordination and offer ideas, the Curriculum Committee works with the facilitators on each class. A system of planning, progress and report meetings keeps everyone on track. 

A member of the Curriculum Committee attends each session to monitor participation and the effectiveness of the class. Evaluations are done on each class and logged for use by future facilitators.

The LLP Selection Committee – comprised of Cissy Anderson, Ernie Lau, Steve List, Kelsea Lovelace, Janet Mosher and Michelina Paulek – selected 18 candidates from a highly qualified field of dynamic individuals.

Additional committees taking on the various responsibilities of keeping this all-volunteer organization operating are Diversity, Recruitment, Retreat, Marketing, Leadership, Alumni, Graduation and the Barbara Conrad Award.

Interested in serving on an LLP committee?  Email and please provide your name, class year, contact information and the committee on which you’d like to participate.


Diversity Committee Policy

Leadership La Plata Authentic Leadership Model

Values of Leadership La Plata

LLP Committee Members

LLP Organization Structure


Special Thanks to Our Sponsors






on the edge
Steamworks Brewing
J3media: graphic design, web design